Liberate Your Art! Postcard Swap


This year I participated in Liberate Your Art – a postcard swap. It is an annual event, whereby artists from all over the world send postcards of their art to a central location. The artist in charge of the event (http://kateyestudio.com/) then gathers and randomly distributes all the postcards to other participants. It has been a long time since I have found myself waiting by the mailbox for some exciting mail – normally my box is full of bills and an occasional card from my Grandma’s cousin-in-law…

I sent out random photographs – some abandoned shots, a shot of some beautiful architecture at my local Kentucky Fried Chicken, a food photo with recipe attached, and a local Seattle landscape shot.

I received several beautiful photographs – one of a coffee cup, and several of beautiful artwork from around the world. The only thing I wish is that more people had listed where they were sending the postcard from – like their hometown/country. It would have been even more exciting for me to be able to tell where the art originated (for thso

This was so much fun, I will definitely participate again next year – – and I encourage others to do the same!



16 Responses to “Liberate Your Art! Postcard Swap”

  1. It was a lot of fun. I’m lucky one of yours arrived in my mail box!

  2. This is my second year and I plan on doing this again next year. Such fun to have them appear in the mail.

  3. Wish I could have seen pictures of your cards. It’s hard to imagine “beautiful architecture” at a KFC!

  4. What a cool idea to send a recipe!

  5. It was fun, see you next year!

  6. I saw two different abandoned shots…if they were yours…I LOVED them. I love that kind of photography. I can’t wait for next year too…take care until then!

  7. I’ve really enjoyed both sharing art & seeing new blogs!

  8. dianeschuller Says:

    Jennifer I hope you post the postcards you received as well as those you sent out! http://www.dianeschuller.com

  9. Sherry Smyth Says:

    I do hope you can post of the photos…would love to see all that you dent and what you received. It was a great swap and I’m sure I’ll be doing it again next year.

  10. So great to have you in the swap this year!

  11. Love the sound of your creativity in the postcards you sent! See you back here next time!

  12. My first year this year also and I will be doing it again next year. Though I was missing 2 cards but that is ok,

Leave a Reply

